GAIL India

    GAIL
    Energy
    ₹170.88
    price as of 15/9/2026, 6:27:54 pm

    Market cap ₹1.12 L Cr

    P/E
    11.36
    Day range
    ₹169.73 – ₹173.82
    52-week range
    ₹134.36 – ₹186.87
    Volume
    61.96 L
    Open
    ₹173.62
    Prev close
    ₹173.62

    Key metrics

    P/E (TTM)
    11.5
    EPS (TTM)
    ₹15.03
    Price / Book
    1.29
    ROE (FY26)
    8.7%
    ROCE (latest year)
    10%
    Dividend yield
    3.14%
    Net margin (TTM)
    6.7%
    Current ratio
    0.85
    Debt / Equity
    0.20
    Revenue growth (5y)
    19.9%
    EPS growth (5y)
    4.9%

    Moving averages (NSE)

    Simple moving averages of the NSE price, and where the last price sits against each
    5-day10-day20-day50-day100-day300-day
    ₹173.77Price below₹173.99Price below₹174.02Price below₹173.8Price below₹169.95Price above₹166.84Price above

    Charts & trends

    From company filings. Amounts in ₹ crore.

    Revenue 3Y CAGR
    -0.9%
    Profit 3Y CAGR
    +10.7%
    Revenue YoY (Jun 2026)
    +16.7%
    Profit YoY (Jun 2026)
    +96.1%
    Operating margin
    17.0%
    Net margin
    11.3%

    Revenue, profit & margin - quarterly

    Bars in ₹ crore (a loss shows red); line is operating margin

    Sep 2023Mar 2024Sep 2024Mar 2025Sep 2025Jun 20260 Cr15.0K Cr30.0K Cr45.0K Cr60.0K Cr0%5%10%15%20%
    • Revenue
    • Net profit
    • Operating margin

    Who owns the company

    Shareholding as of Jun 2026

    • Promoter
    • DII
    • FII
    • Government
    • Public

    Cash flows

    Where cash came from and went, by fiscal year (₹ crore)

    Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024Mar 2025Mar 2026-16.0KCr-8.0K Cr0 Cr8.0K Cr16.0K Cr
    • Operating
    • Investing
    • Financing
    • Free cash flow

    Return on equity

    Net profit over shareholders' equity, by fiscal year

    FY17FY18FY19FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY260%6%12%18%24%15%

    Equity vs debt

    Shareholders' equity against borrowings (₹ crore); line is debt-to-equity

    Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024Mar 2025Mar 20260 Cr25.0K Cr50.0K Cr75.0K Cr1.0L Cr0.0x0.1x0.1x0.2x0.3x
    • Equity
    • Debt
    • Debt / equity

    Financial statements

    ₹ Crore
    Quarterly results, oldest period first, figures in rupees crore
    Line itemSep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026
    Sales32,98634,69832,75634,73833,88936,83536,44035,31135,53735,17335,57741,198
    Expenses29,40530,49028,90829,94829,95233,66532,91431,64232,07732,24634,12334,100
    Operating Profit3,5804,2083,8494,7903,9373,1693,5263,6693,4602,9271,4537,098
    OPM %11%12%12%14%12%9%10%10%10%8%4.1%17%
    Other Income5959156516856433,2116745665166831,250475
    Interest200176159209188169174213234254263319
    Depreciation8378721,2411,1529229397869931,1771,192474987
    Profit before tax3,1384,0753,0994,1143,4705,2723,2403,0292,5652,1651,9666,268
    Tax %22%22%20%23%22%23%23%21%22%20%25%25%
    Net Profit2,4423,1932,4743,1832,6904,0842,5062,3821,9891,7291,4814,671
    EPS in Rs₹3.72₹4.86₹3.75₹4.84₹4.10₹6.21₹3.79₹3.60₹3.00₹2.67₹2.26₹7.10

    From company filings, updated 15 Sept 2026. Consolidated figures where the company reports them.Information only, not investment advice.

    Working-capital cycle

    Debtor Days22

    0 days since Mar 2021

    Inventory Days16

    -9 days since Mar 2021

    Days Payable19

    -18 days since Mar 2021

    Cash Conversion Cycle19

    +9 days since Mar 2021

    Working Capital Days-14

    +10 days since Mar 2021

    Strengths, risks & growth

    Incorporated in 1984, GAIL, a Government of India undertaking, is an integrated natural gas company in India. It owns over 11,500 km of natural gas pipelines, over 2300 km of LPG pipelines, six LPG gas-processing units and a petrochemicals facility. It also has a joint-venture interest in Petronet LNG Ltd, Ratnagiri Gas and Power Pvt Ltd, and in the CGD business in several cities. GAIL has wholly owned subsidiaries in Singapore and the US for expanding its presence outside India in the segments of LNG, petrochemical trading and shale gas assets.

    Strengths

    • Company has been maintaining a healthy dividend payout of 41.3%

    Risks

    • Company has a low return on equity of 11.3% over last 3 years.

    Compounded Sales Growth

    10 Years
    +11%
    5 Years
    +20%
    3 Years
    -1%
    TTM
    +4%

    Compounded Profit Growth

    10 Years
    +15%
    5 Years
    +4%
    3 Years
    +10%
    TTM
    +1%

    Stock Price CAGR

    10 Years
    +9%
    5 Years
    +11%
    3 Years
    +12%
    1 Year
    -4%

    Return on Equity

    10 Years
    +13%
    5 Years
    +12%
    3 Years
    +11%
    Last Year
    +9%

    Strengths and risks are a machine-generated checklist, not advice; growth is compounded annually over each period.

    Shareholding pattern

    Percentage of shares held by each category at each quarter end
    HolderSept 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Change
    Promoter51.88%51.88%51.88%51.79%-0.09 pp
    FII13.72%14.07%13.04%15.00%+1.96 pp
    DII19.88%19.76%20.50%19.09%-1.41 pp
    Government7.61%7.61%7.61%7.59%-0.02 pp
    Public6.92%6.69%6.98%6.52%-0.46 pp

    Filed with NSE for Jun 2026: promoters 51.79%, public 48.21% · XBRL filing

    Analysts & fund holdings

    70%
    70% recommend buy
    30 analysts cover the stock
    Valuation vs Gas Utilities
    P/E11.4 vs 26.3
    Sector P/B2.93
    Beta1.60

    Who holds the shares, quarter by quarter

    Mutual funds 8.38% (-1.85 pp)
    Mar 25
    Jun 25
    Sept 25
    Dec 25
    Mar 26
    Jun 26
    • Promoters51.5%
    • Foreign institutions14.9%
    • Mutual funds8.4%
    • Insurance9.2%
    • Other domestic institutions1.6%
    • Retail4.7%
    • Others9.7%
    Mutual funds holding the most
    Fund% of company% of fund3-month change
    SBI Contra Fund0.96%2.29%+0.04 pp
    SBI Balanced Advantage Fund0.95%2.56%+0.04 pp
    HDFC Balanced Advantage Fund0.77%0.81%+0.01 pp
    SBI Energy Opportunities Fund0.59%7.98%+0.53 pp
    SBI PSU Fund0.40%6.78%-3.13 pp

    Scorecard

    Performance
    Avg
    Valuation
    Avg
    Growth
    Low
    Profitability
    High
    Entry point
    Good
    Red flags
    Low

    Analyst coverage, holdings and scorecard from market data; not a recommendation by Parasram India.

    Risk & trend

    From 248 daily sessions to 11 Sept 2026.

    Computed

    Risk

    Volatility (1Y)
    25.5%
    Downside volatility
    25.5%
    Worst 5% of days
    2.8%
    Average of that tail
    4.0%
    Max drawdown (1Y)
    26.9%
    Below its peak
    6.3%

    Against the market

    Beta vs Nifty 50
    1.09
    Correlation
    0.56
    Relative strength (3M)
    +0.9%
    ATR (14)
    1.9%

    Return

    Return 1M
    -1.3%
    Return 3M
    -1.0%
    Return 6M
    +15.5%
    Return 1Y
    vs 200-day average
    +4.3%

    Momentum

    RSI (14)
    49.0
    MACD histogram
    0.02
    Stochastic %K
    47.5
    ADX (14)
    17.4
    +DI / −DI
    22.6 / 12.7
    Money flow index
    50.8

    Participation

    Delivery (20d avg)
    62.8%
    vs its 60-day baseline
    +4.9 pts
    Volume vs 20-day
    +0.2σ
    Close vs day's VWAP
    -0.4%
    52-week position
    77 / 100

    These describe what this stock's price has already done. They are not forecasts, signals or recommendations, and a dash means the figure was withheld for want of enough history rather than being zero.

    Financial quality

    From consolidated statements to 30 Jun 2026.

    Computed

    Computed from filed statements, not filed themselves. A dash means an input was absent, and the score counts only the criteria that could actually be tested.

    Corporate actions

    • dividend
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Dividend - Re 0.50 Per Share

      2 Sept 2026
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹5.00

      Interim Dividend - Rs 5 Per Share

      5 Feb 2026
      ex-date
    • dividend
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Dividend - Re 1 Per Share

      4 Aug 2025
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹6.50

      Interim Dividend - Rs 6.50 Per Share

      7 Feb 2025
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹5.50

      Interim Dividend - Rs 5.50 Per Share

      6 Feb 2024
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹4.00

      Interim Dividend - Rs 4 Per Share

      21 Mar 2023
      ex-date
    • bonus
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Bonus 1:2

      6 Sept 2022
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹1.00

      Dividend - Rs 1 Per Share

      1 Aug 2022
      ex-date
    • buyback
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Buyback

      21 Apr 2022
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹5.00

      Interim Dividend - Rs 5 Per Share

      21 Mar 2022
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹4.00

      Interim Dividend - Rs 4 Per Share

      30 Dec 2021
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹2.50

      Interim Dividend - Rs 2.5 Per Share

      22 Mar 2021
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹2.50

      Interim Dividend - Rs 2.50 Per Share

      27 Jan 2021
      ex-date
    • buyback
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Buyback

      27 Jan 2021
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹6.40

      Interim Dividend - Rs 6.4 Per Share

      17 Feb 2020
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹0.89

      Dividend - Rs 0.885 Per Share

      8 Aug 2019
      ex-date
    • bonus
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Bonus 1:1

      9 Jul 2019
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹6.25

      Interim Dividend - Rs 6.25 Per Share

      12 Feb 2019
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹1.44

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend- Rs 1.44 Per Share

      30 Aug 2018
      ex-date
    • bonus
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Bonus 1:3

      27 Mar 2018
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹7.65

      Interim Dividend - Rs 7.65 Per Share (Purpose Revised)

      18 Jan 2018
      ex-date

    Company announcements

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Analyst / Investor Meet - Intimation

    This is to inform that in terms of Regulation 30 of the SEBI (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015, schedule of Analyst/ Institutional Investor Meet /Conference ....

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Appointment of Statutory Auditor/s

    This is to inform that the Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG) vide its letter No./CA. V/ COY/CENTRAL GOVERNMENT,GAIL(2)/113 dated 07.09.2026 appointed M/s Ravi Rajan & Co. LLP, ....

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Press Release / Media Release

    Please find enclosed a copy of Press Release on 'GAIL (India) Limited and Petronet LNG Limited host 'MC² Plus Hyderabad Connect' to Accelerate Innovation and Entrepreneurship in the Energy Sector'.

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Analyst / Investor Meet - Intimation

    This is to inform that in terms of Regulation 30 of the SEBI (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015, schedule of Analyst/ Institutional Investor Meet /Conference ....

    AGM/EGMPrice-sensitive
    Shareholder Meeting / Postal Ballot-Scrutinizer's Report

    This is to inform that 42nd AGM of the Company was held on 27.08.2026 (Thursday) at 11:30 a.m. through Video Conferencing Mode (VC) /Other Audio-Visual Means (OAVM). The summary of Voting ....

    AGM/EGMPrice-sensitive
    Shareholder Meeting / Postal Ballot-Outcome of AGM

    The Proceedings of 42nd AGM of the Company held on 27.08.2026 (Thursday) at 11:30 a.m. through VC/OAVM .

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Change in Management

    This is in continuation of our letter of even no. dated 13.08.2026 The information pertaining to Smt. Rupa Saikia (DIN 11908368) is as provided in the letter

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Change in Management

    Appointment of Independent Director( Dr. Banwari Lal ).

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Change in Management

    Pursuant to Regulation 30 of SEBI (LODR) Regulations, 2015, it is hereby informed that Shri Lalit Bhatt, ex-ED (BIS), Senior Management personnel of GAIL (One level below the Board of Directors) ....

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Change in Management

    This is with reference to MoP&NG Letter No. CA-31033/1/2026-CA-PNG (55708) dated 12.08.2026 regarding nomination of the following persons as Non-Official Independent Directors on the Board ....

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Change in Directorate

    This is to inform that Shri Kushagra Mittal, Government Nominee Director (DIN 09831741), ceased to be a Director of the Company w.e.f. 11.08.2026.

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Analyst / Investor Meet - Intimation

    Schedule of Analyst/ Institutional Investor Meet/ Conference

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Newspaper Publication

    Newspaper Publication of Dispatch of Notice and Annual Report of the 42nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Members

    AGM/EGMPrice-sensitive
    Notice Of The 42Nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) Of GAIL (India) Limited Along With Annual Report For FY 2025-26

    Notice of the 42nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) of GAIL (India) Limited along with Annual Report for FY 2025-26

    Corp. Action
    Notice Of The 42Nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) Of GAIL (India) Limited Along With Annual Report For FY 2025-26 And Intimation Of Record Date Of Final Dividend For The FY 2025-26, If Approved, At The AGM.

    The Board of Directors of the Company has recommended a Final Dividend of Re.0.50 per equity share. The Company has fixed Wednesday, September 2, 2026 as the 'Record Date' for determining ....

    Filed with BSE (scrip 532155); the last 45 days. Documents open at bseindia.com.

    Documents

    Earnings calls

    Credit ratings

    Documents open at BSE or the rating agency that issued them.

    Sourced from the company's NSE XBRL filing dated 30 Jan 2025 (unaudited). View the source filing. Figures are as filed and are not investment advice.