HDFC Life Insurance
Market cap ₹1.12 L Cr
- P/E
- 56.28
- Day range
- ₹516.10 – ₹530.65
- 52-week range
- ₹508.70 – ₹796.90
- Volume
- 48.43 L
- Open
- ₹530.00
- Prev close
- ₹530.00
Key metrics
- P/E (TTM)
- 57.3
- EPS (TTM)
- ₹9.16
- ROE (FY26)
- 11.3%
- ROCE (latest year)
- 10%
- Dividend yield
- 0.40%
Charts & trends
From company filings. Amounts in ₹ crore.
Revenue, profit & margin - quarterly
Bars in ₹ crore (a loss shows red); line is operating margin
- Revenue
- Net profit
- Operating margin
Who owns the company
Shareholding as of Jun 2026
- Promoter
- DII
- FII
- Public
- Others
Cash flows
Where cash came from and went, by fiscal year (₹ crore)
- Operating
- Investing
- Financing
- Free cash flow
Return on equity
Net profit over shareholders' equity, by fiscal year
Equity vs debt
Shareholders' equity against borrowings (₹ crore); line is debt-to-equity
- Equity
- Debt
- Debt / equity
Financial statements
| Line item | Sep 2023 | Dec 2023 | Mar 2024 | Jun 2024 | Sep 2024 | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales | 23,142 | 26,927 | 28,041 | 26,934 | 28,497 | 17,300 | 24,191 | 29,463 | 20,651 | 29,428 | 19,890 | 33,759 |
| Expenses | 23,557 | 26,663 | 27,766 | 26,623 | 28,807 | 16,852 | 23,814 | 29,024 | 20,336 | 29,157 | 19,782 | 33,253 |
| Operating Profit | -415 | 264 | 275 | 311 | -310 | 448 | 377 | 439 | 315 | 271 | 108 | 506 |
| OPM % | -1.8% | 1% | 1% | 1.2% | -1.1% | 2.6% | 1.6% | 1.5% | 1.5% | 0.9% | 0.6% | 1.5% |
| Other Income | 136 | 103 | 174 | 90 | 279 | -29 | 124 | 164 | 157 | 174 | 428 | 171 |
| Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Depreciation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Profit before tax | -279 | 367 | 450 | 401 | -30 | 419 | 500 | 604 | 471 | 445 | 537 | 677 |
| Tax % | -235% | 0% | 8% | -20% | -1541% | -1% | 5% | 9% | 5% | 6% | 7% | 10% |
| Net Profit | 378 | 368 | 412 | 479 | 435 | 421 | 475 | 548 | 448 | 418 | 497 | 611 |
| EPS in Rs | ₹1.76 | ₹1.71 | ₹1.91 | ₹2.23 | ₹2.02 | ₹1.96 | ₹2.21 | ₹2.54 | ₹2.08 | ₹1.94 | ₹2.31 | ₹2.81 |
From company filings, updated 15 Sept 2026. Consolidated figures where the company reports them.Information only, not investment advice.
Working-capital cycle
0 days since Mar 2021
0 days since Mar 2021
+7 days since Mar 2021
Strengths, risks & growth
HDFC Life Insurance Company is engaged in carrying on the business of life insurance. The Company offers a range of individual and group insurance solutions. The portfolio comprises of various insurance and investment products such as Protection, Pension, Savings,(Source : 202003 Annual Report Page No: 175)
Strengths
- Company has been maintaining a healthy dividend payout of 25.3%
Risks
- Stock is trading at 5.89 times its book value
- The company has delivered a poor sales growth of 6.81% over past five years.
- Tax rate seems low
- Company has a low return on equity of 11.1% over last 3 years.
- Earnings include an other income of Rs.931 Cr.
Compounded Sales Growth
- 10 Years
- +19%
- 5 Years
- +7%
- 3 Years
- +12%
- TTM
- +4%
Compounded Profit Growth
- 10 Years
- +9%
- 5 Years
- +7%
- 3 Years
- +12%
- TTM
- +5%
Stock Price CAGR
- 10 Years
- —
- 5 Years
- -7%
- 3 Years
- -6%
- 1 Year
- -32%
Return on Equity
- 10 Years
- +14%
- 5 Years
- +11%
- 3 Years
- +11%
- Last Year
- +11%
Strengths and risks are a machine-generated checklist, not advice; growth is compounded annually over each period.
Shareholding pattern
| Holder | Sept 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoter | 50.25% | 50.21% | 50.21% | 50.54% | +0.33 pp |
| FII | 24.82% | 24.27% | 22.52% | 19.27% | -3.25 pp |
| DII | 14.59% | 15.23% | 17.25% | 20.19% | +2.94 pp |
| Public | 10.32% | 10.25% | 10.00% | 9.98% | -0.02 pp |
| Others | 0.03% | 0.03% | 0.03% | 0.02% | -0.01 pp |
Filed with NSE for Jun 2026: promoters 50.54%, public 49.44% · XBRL filing
Analysts & fund holdings
Who holds the shares, quarter by quarter
Mutual funds 16.57% (+2.03 pp)- Promoters50.5%
- Foreign institutions19.3%
- Mutual funds16.6%
- Insurance2.2%
- Other domestic institutions1.4%
- Retail3.6%
- Others6.4%
| Fund | % of company | % of fund | 3-month change |
|---|---|---|---|
| SBI Large Cap Fund | 1.31% | 2.86% | -0.17 pp |
| ICICI Pru Value Fund | 0.98% | 1.97% | -0.11 pp |
| ICICI Pru India Opp Fund | 0.78% | 2.45% | -0.01 pp |
| ICICI Pru Large Cap Fund | 0.71% | 1.07% | -0.07 pp |
| SBI Large & Midcap Fund | 0.62% | 1.75% | -0.17 pp |
Scorecard
- Performance
- Low
- Valuation
- High
- Growth
- Low
- Profitability
- High
- Entry point
- Good
- Red flags
- Low
Analyst coverage, holdings and scorecard from market data; not a recommendation by Parasram India.
Risk & trend
From 248 daily sessions to 11 Sept 2026.
Risk
- Volatility (1Y)
- 22.7%
- Downside volatility
- 23.1%
- Worst 5% of days
- 2.5%
- Average of that tail
- 3.3%
- Max drawdown (1Y)
- 34.8%
- Below its peak
- 32.7%
Against the market
- Beta vs Nifty 50
- 0.93
- Correlation
- 0.54
- Relative strength (3M)
- -6.9%
- ATR (14)
- 2.3%
Return
- Return 1M
- -1.5%
- Return 3M
- -8.8%
- Return 6M
- -19.2%
- Return 1Y
- —
- vs 200-day average
- -16.9%
Momentum
- RSI (14)
- 44.1
- MACD histogram
- -1.30
- Stochastic %K
- 38.9
- ADX (14)
- 15.7
- +DI / −DI
- 16.1 / 24.3
- Money flow index
- 47.6
Participation
- Delivery (20d avg)
- 56.0%
- vs its 60-day baseline
- -0.1 pts
- Volume vs 20-day
- +0.6σ
- Close vs day's VWAP
- +0.6%
- 52-week position
- 6 / 100
These describe what this stock's price has already done. They are not forecasts, signals or recommendations, and a dash means the figure was withheld for want of enough history rather than being zero.
Financial quality
From consolidated statements to 30 Jun 2026.
No F-Score: it needs two reporting periods a year apart that carry both an income statement and a balance sheet, and this company's filings do not yet line up that way. The ratios below need only the one period and are unaffected.
- Net debt
- ₹23,24,64,00,000
- Net debt / equity
- 0.12
- EV / sales
- 3.53
Computed from filed statements, not filed themselves. A dash means an input was absent, and the score counts only the criteria that could actually be tested.
Corporate actions
- dividend₹2.10
Dividend - Rs 2.10 Per Share
19 Jun 2026ex-date - dividend₹2.10
Dividend - Rs 2.10 Per Share
20 Jun 2025ex-date - dividend₹2.00
Dividend - Rs 2 Per Share
21 Jun 2024ex-date - dividend₹1.90
Dividend - Rs 1.90 Per Share
16 Jun 2023ex-date - dividend₹1.70
Dividend - Rs 1.70 Per Share
31 May 2022ex-date - dividend₹2.02
Dividend - Rs 2.02 Per Sh
30 Jun 2021ex-date - otherNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting
11 Jul 2019ex-date - dividend₹1.63
Interim Dividend - Rs 1.63 Per Share
14 Mar 2019ex-date - otherNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting
12 Jul 2018ex-date - dividend₹1.36
Interim Dividend - Rs 1.36 Per Share (Purpose Revised)
15 Dec 2017ex-date
Company announcements
Please refer the file for further details.
Please refer the attached file for further details.
Allotment of 1,14,000 equity shares under ESOP Schemes.
Please refer the attached file for further details.
Please refer the attached file for further details
Filed with BSE (scrip 540777); the last 45 days. Documents open at bseindia.com.
Documents
Annual reports
Earnings calls
- Jul 2026TranscriptRecording
- Apr 2026TranscriptSlidesRecording
- Jan 2026TranscriptSlidesRecording
- Oct 2025TranscriptSlides
- Jul 2025TranscriptSlides
- Apr 2025TranscriptSlidesRecording
Credit ratings
- Rating update · 31 Aug from icra
- Rating update · 27 Jan from crisil
- Rating update · 28 Nov 2025 from care
- Rating update · 26 Nov 2025 from icra
- Rating update · 8 Sep 2025 from care
- Rating update · 29 Aug 2025 from icra
Documents open at BSE or the rating agency that issued them.