Tata Steel

    TATASTEEL
    Metals
    ₹183.65
    price as of 15/9/2026, 6:27:58 pm

    Market cap ₹2.29 L Cr

    P/E
    20.77
    Day range
    ₹182.38 – ₹186.49
    52-week range
    ₹160.06 – ₹224.40
    Volume
    3.19 Cr
    Open
    ₹186.10
    Prev close
    ₹183.00

    Key metrics

    P/E (TTM)
    21.0
    EPS (TTM)
    ₹8.85
    ROE (FY26)
    11.3%
    ROCE (latest year)
    13%
    Dividend yield
    2.15%

    Charts & trends

    From company filings. Amounts in ₹ crore.

    Revenue 3Y CAGR
    -1.6%
    Profit 3Y CAGR
    +10.5%
    Revenue YoY (Jun 2026)
    +14.3%
    Profit YoY (Jun 2026)
    +18.8%
    Operating margin
    15.0%
    Net margin
    3.9%

    Revenue, profit & margin - quarterly

    Bars in ₹ crore (a loss shows red); line is operating margin

    Sep 2023Mar 2024Sep 2024Mar 2025Sep 2025Jun 2026-25.0KCr0 Cr25.0K Cr50.0K Cr75.0K Cr0%4%8%12%16%
    • Revenue
    • Net profit
    • Operating margin

    Who owns the company

    Shareholding as of Jun 2026

    • Promoter
    • DII
    • Public
    • FII
    • Government

    Cash flows

    Where cash came from and went, by fiscal year (₹ crore)

    Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024Mar 2025Mar 2026-50.0KCr-25.0KCr0 Cr25.0K Cr50.0K Cr
    • Operating
    • Investing
    • Financing
    • Free cash flow

    Return on equity

    Net profit over shareholders' equity, by fiscal year

    FY17FY18FY19FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY26-15%0%15%30%45%15%

    Equity vs debt

    Shareholders' equity against borrowings (₹ crore); line is debt-to-equity

    Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024Mar 2025Mar 20260 Cr30.0K Cr60.0K Cr90.0K Cr1.2L Cr0.0x0.6x1.1x1.6x2.2x
    • Equity
    • Debt
    • Debt / equity

    Financial statements

    ₹ Crore
    Quarterly results, oldest period first, figures in rupees crore
    Line itemSep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026
    Sales55,68255,31258,68754,77153,90553,64856,21853,17858,68957,00263,27060,794
    Expenses51,41449,04852,08748,07747,78947,74549,65945,75149,79348,80353,44151,530
    Operating Profit4,2686,2646,6016,6946,1165,9036,5597,4288,8978,2009,8299,264
    OPM %8%11%11%12%11%11%12%14%15%14%16%15%
    Other Income-6,568-33-382-6617142149236-646542-17
    Interest1,9591,8811,8421,7771,9711,8041,7891,8521,7751,7471,7921,771
    Depreciation2,4802,4222,5682,5352,5972,5692,7202,7442,8933,0493,2683,640
    Profit before tax-6,7391,9281,8092,3772,1641,6722,2003,0674,2223,8694,8103,838
    Tax %-3%73%69%61%65%82%45%35%25%29%38%38%
    Net Profit-6,5115225559197592951,2012,0073,1832,7302,9652,385
    EPS in Rs₹-5.07₹0.42₹0.49₹0.77₹0.67₹0.26₹1.04₹1.66₹2.48₹2.15₹2.34₹1.86

    From company filings, updated 15 Sept 2026. Consolidated figures where the company reports them.Information only, not investment advice.

    Working-capital cycle

    Debtor Days8

    -14 days since Mar 2021

    Inventory Days184

    -31 days since Mar 2021

    Days Payable136

    -31 days since Mar 2021

    Cash Conversion Cycle56

    -13 days since Mar 2021

    Working Capital Days-56

    -1 days since Mar 2021

    Strengths, risks & growth

    Tata Steel Ltd is Asia's first integrated private steel company setup in 1907. [1] The company has presence across the entire value chain of steel manufacturing from mining and processing iron ore and coal to producing and distributing finished products. [2] The company has a target to increase domestic steelmaking capacity to 30 MnTPA by 2025. [3]

    Strengths

    • Company has been maintaining a healthy dividend payout of 25.4%

    Risks

    • The company has delivered a poor sales growth of 8.21% over past five years.
    • Company has a low return on equity of 7.44% over last 3 years.

    Compounded Sales Growth

    10 Years
    +9%
    5 Years
    +8%
    3 Years
    -2%
    TTM
    +11%

    Compounded Profit Growth

    10 Years
    +24%
    5 Years
    +8%
    3 Years
    +10%
    TTM
    +147%

    Stock Price CAGR

    10 Years
    +18%
    5 Years
    +5%
    3 Years
    +12%
    1 Year
    +8%

    Return on Equity

    10 Years
    +12%
    5 Years
    +14%
    3 Years
    +7%
    Last Year
    +12%

    Strengths and risks are a machine-generated checklist, not advice; growth is compounded annually over each period.

    Shareholding pattern

    Percentage of shares held by each category at each quarter end
    HolderSept 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Change
    Promoter33.19%33.19%33.19%32.94%-0.25 pp
    FII17.29%17.49%18.58%18.90%+0.32 pp
    DII26.92%26.98%26.67%26.44%-0.23 pp
    Government0.18%0.18%0.18%0.18%0.00 pp
    Public22.42%22.14%21.36%21.52%+0.16 pp

    Filed with NSE for Jun 2026: promoters 32.94%, public 67.06% · XBRL filing

    Analysts & fund holdings

    56%
    56% recommend buy
    32 analysts cover the stock
    Valuation vs Metals & Mining
    P/E20.8 vs 24.9
    Sector P/B3.12
    Beta1.16

    Who holds the shares, quarter by quarter

    Mutual funds 14.71% (+0.24 pp)
    Mar 25
    Jun 25
    Sept 25
    Dec 25
    Mar 26
    Jun 26
    • Promoters32.9%
    • Foreign institutions19.4%
    • Mutual funds14.7%
    • Insurance9.5%
    • Other domestic institutions2.4%
    • Retail16.0%
    • Others5.0%
    Mutual funds holding the most
    Fund% of company% of fund3-month change
    ICICI Pru Large Cap Fund0.52%1.49%+0.13 pp
    HDFC Flexi Cap Fund0.44%0.88%-0.25 pp
    SBI Contra Fund0.42%2.02%-0.05 pp
    Kotak Arbitrage Fund0.36%1.10%+0.50 pp
    SBI Balanced Advantage Fund0.33%1.78%-0.05 pp

    Scorecard

    Performance
    Avg
    Valuation
    High
    Growth
    Low
    Profitability
    High
    Entry point
    Good
    Red flags
    Low

    Analyst coverage, holdings and scorecard from market data; not a recommendation by Parasram India.

    Risk & trend

    From 248 daily sessions to 11 Sept 2026.

    Computed

    Risk

    Volatility (1Y)
    25.8%
    Downside volatility
    25.7%
    Worst 5% of days
    2.5%
    Average of that tail
    3.8%
    Max drawdown (1Y)
    17.4%
    Below its peak
    17.2%

    Against the market

    Beta vs Nifty 50
    1.08
    Correlation
    0.55
    Relative strength (3M)
    -5.3%
    ATR (14)
    2.5%

    Return

    Return 1M
    -1.0%
    Return 3M
    -7.2%
    Return 6M
    -6.2%
    Return 1Y
    vs 200-day average
    -5.0%

    Momentum

    RSI (14)
    43.8
    MACD histogram
    0.10
    Stochastic %K
    23.3
    ADX (14)
    15.0
    +DI / −DI
    21.6 / 18.6
    Money flow index
    55.8

    Participation

    Delivery (20d avg)
    52.9%
    vs its 60-day baseline
    -0.3 pts
    Volume vs 20-day
    +0.3σ
    Close vs day's VWAP
    +0.3%
    52-week position
    37 / 100

    These describe what this stock's price has already done. They are not forecasts, signals or recommendations, and a dash means the figure was withheld for want of enough history rather than being zero.

    Financial quality

    From consolidated statements to 30 Jun 2026.

    Computed

    Computed from filed statements, not filed themselves. A dash means an input was absent, and the score counts only the criteria that could actually be tested.

    Corporate actions

    • dividend
      ₹4.00

      Dividend - Rs 4 Per Share

      12 Jun 2026
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹3.60

      Dividend - Rs 3.60 Per Share

      6 Jun 2025
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹3.60

      Dividend - Rs 3.60 Per Share

      21 Jun 2024
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹3.60

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 3.60 Per Share

      22 Jun 2023
      ex-date
    • split
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Face Value Split (Sub-Division) - From Rs 10/- Per Share To Re 1/- Per Share

      28 Jul 2022
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹51.00

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 51 Per Share

      15 Jun 2022
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹25.00

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 25 Per Share

      17 Jun 2021
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹10.00

      Dividend - Rs 10 Per Share

      6 Aug 2020
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹13.00

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 13 Per Share

      4 Jul 2019
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹10.00

      Annual General Meeting / Dividend- Rs 10 Per Share

      5 Jul 2018
      ex-date
    • rights
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Rights - 4:25 Fully Paid Up Shares @ Premium Rs 500/- Per Share / 2:25 Partly Paid Up Shares @ Premium Rs 605/- Per Share

      31 Jan 2018
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹10.00

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 10/- Per Share

      20 Jul 2017
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹8.00

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend Rs 8/- Per Share

      28 Jul 2016
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹8.00

      Annual General Meeting / Dividend - Rs. 8/- Per Share

      23 Jul 2015
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹10.00

      Annual General Meeting / Dividend - Rs.10/- Per Ordinary Share

      14 Jul 2014
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹8.00

      Annual General Meeting / Dividend - Rs.8/- Per Ordinary Share

      15 Jul 2013
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹12.00

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend Rs 12 Per Share

      16 Jul 2012
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹12.00

      Annual General Meeting/Dividend Rs 12 Per Share

      4 Jul 2011
      ex-date
    • dividend
      ₹8.00

      Annual General Meeting And Dividend Rs.8/- Per Share

      12 Jul 2010
      ex-date
    • other
      Not available — not reported in this filing

      Agm/Div-Rs.16/- Per Share

      6 Jul 2009
      ex-date

    Company announcements

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Analyst / Investor Meet - Intimation

    Intimation of Schedule of Analyst / Institutional Investor Meeting under the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015, as amended.

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Diversification / Disinvestment

    Divestment of entire stake held in Jamshedpur Football and Sporting Private Limited, wholly owned subsidiary

    Company UpdatePrice-sensitive
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Acquisition

    Acquisition of equity stake in T Steel Holdings Pte. Ltd

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Change in Management

    Changes in Senior Management Personnel of Tata Steel Limited

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Analyst / Investor Meet - Intimation

    Intimation of Schedule of Analyst/ Institutional Investor Meeting

    Company Update
    Disclosure Under Regulation 30 Read With Regulation 51 Of The Securities And Exchange Board Of India (Listing Obligations And Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015, As Amended.

    Disclosure under Regulation 30 read with Regulation 51 of SEBI Listing Regulations, 2015

    Company Update
    Disclosure Under Regulations 30 And 51 Of Securities And Exchange Board Of India (Listing Obligations And Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015

    Disclosure under Regulations 30 and 51 of SEBI Listing Regulations, 2015

    Company Update
    Disclosure Under Regulation 30 And 51 Of The Securities And Exchange Board Of India (Listing Obligations And Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015

    Disclosure under Regulation 30 and 51 of Securities and Exchange Board of India (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015

    Company UpdatePrice-sensitive
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Updates on Acquisition

    Acquisition of equity stake in TM International Logistics Limited

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Newspaper Publication

    Newspaper Advertisement - Disclosure under Regulation 30 of Securities and Exchange Board of India (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Newspaper Publication

    Newspaper Advertisement - Disclosure under Regulation 30 of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Diversification / Disinvestment

    Divestment of entire stake held in Jamshedpur Football and Sporting Private Limited, wholly owned subsidiary.

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Press Release / Media Release

    Tata Steel transfers ownership of Jamshedpur Football and Sporting Private Limited to Churchill Brothers FC

    Others
    Board Meeting Outcome for Outcome Of The Meeting Of Committee Of Directors - Divestment Of Entire Stake Held In Jamshedpur Football And Sporting Private Limited, Wholly Owned Subsidiary.

    Divestment of entire stake held in Jamshedpur Football and Sporting Private Limited, wholly owned subsidiary

    Company Update
    Announcement under Regulation 30 (LODR)-Analyst / Investor Meet - Intimation

    Intimation of schedule of Analyst/ Institutional Investor Meeting

    Filed with BSE (scrip 500470); the last 45 days. Documents open at bseindia.com.

    SEBI filings & orders

    From SEBI's website. An order may concern the company, its officers or trading in its shares, and may be under appeal - read the order itself. Personal identifiers are withheld.

    Buybacks, open offers & rights issues

    Regulatory orders

    • Adjudication order

      Adjudication Order in respect of Tata Steel Limited in the matter of The Tin Plate Company of India Ltd.

      7 Dec 2017
      Read on SEBI

    Documents

    Credit ratings

    Documents open at BSE or the rating agency that issued them.

    Sourced from the company's NSE XBRL filing dated 28 Jan 2025 (unaudited). View the source filing. Figures are as filed and are not investment advice.